Posted on November 18, 2015 in Action Alerts

There have been various efforts from politicians to block the resettlement of Syrian refugees in the United States. 32 governors have announced that they will temporarily, or permanently, reject the settlement of Syrian refugees in their state. Even worse, some presidential candidates are suggesting that for the first time ever we impose a religious test. And even before the attacks in Paris and Beirut, anti-Arab and anti-Muslim groups like the Center for Security Policy have published material making outlandish claims against Syrian refugees, specifically claiming that "migration is jihad." This is the familiar Islamophobia we’ve seen before, but this time lives hang in the balance.

As a young leader your voices are arguably the most important. Here are things you can do to combat bigotry and misinformation about Syrian refugees:

  1. Use social media to politely tweet directly to the governors, members of congress and Presidential candidates who oppose or support the resettlement of Syrian refugees in the United States (See twitter handle lists below).
  2. Share this infographic regarding the vetting process for Syrian refugees.
  3. Directly contact your Governor with your concerns or support of what they said about Syrian refugees.
  4. Contact your member of Congress or local representative and call on them to reject the politics of hatred. If they are on the House Judiciary Committee, ask them to attend tomorrow’s Committee hearing on the Syrian Refugee Crisis. Take action here. 
  5. If you are in DC, please attend tomorrow’s hearing to show support. If not, please watch it and live tweet using the hashtag #NoBigotry #RefugeesWelcome
  6. Host an event on your college campus bringing awareness to the challenges Syrian refugees face each and everyday. We are happy to help you organize this event and provide printed materials. Please contact Yasmin Hussein to discuss further.


The following is a cheat sheet we prepared:


Presidential Candidates (Opposed):

  1. Donald Trump @RealDonaldTrump
  2. Governor Jeb Bush @JebBush
  3. Gov. Scott Walker @ScottWalker
  4. Governor Mike Huckabee @GovMikeHuckabee
  5. Ben Carson @RealBenCarson
  6. Sen. Ted Cruz @TedCruz
  7. Sen. Marco Rubio @MarcoRubio
  8. Sen. Rand Paul @RandPaul
  9. Gov. Chris Christie @ChrisChristie
  10. Gov. John Kasich @JohnKasich
  11. Carly Fiorina @CarlyFiorina
  12. Governor George Pataki @GovernorPataki


Presidential Candidates (In Support):

  1. Secretary Hillary Clinton @hillaryclinton
  2. Sen. Bernie Sanders @berniesanders
  3. Gov. Martin O’Malley  @martinomalley
  4. Sen. Lindsey Graham @LindseyGrahamSC


Governors (Opposed):

  1. AL: Gov. Robert Bentley @GovernorBently
  2. AR: Gov. Asa Hutchinson @AsaHutchinson
  3. AZ: Gov. Doug Ducey @dougducey
  4. FL: Gov. Rick Scott @FLGovScott
  5. GA: Gov. Nathan Deal @GovernorDeal
  6. IA: Gov. Terry Branstad @TerryBranstad
  7. ID: Gov. C.L. “Butch” Otter @ButchOtter
  8. IL: Gov. Bruce Rauner @BruceRauner
  9. IN: Gov. Mike Pence @GovPenceIN
  10. KS: Gov. Sam Brownback @GovsaSamBrownback
  11. KY: Governor-Elect Matt Bevin @MattBevin
  12. LA: Gov. Bobby Jindal @BobbyJindal
  13. MA: Gov. Charlie Baker @MassGovernor
  14. MD: Gov. Larry Hogan @LarryHogan
  15. ME: Gov. Paul LePage @Governor_LePage
  16. MI: Gov. Rick Snyder @onetoughnerd
  17. MS: Gov. Phil Bryant @PhilBryantMS
  18. NC: Gov. Pat McCrory @PatMcCroy
  19. ND: Gov. Jack Dalrymple @NDGovDalrymple
  20. NE: Gov. Pete Ricketts @GovRicketts
  21. NH: Maggie Hassan @GovernorHassan
  22. NJ: Gov. Chris Christie @GovChristie
  23. NM: Gov. Susana Martinez @PatMcCroryNC
  24. NV: Gov. Brian Sandoval @BrianSandoval
  25. OH: Gov. John Kasich @JohnKasich
  26. OK: Gov. Mary Fillin @GpvMaryFillin
  27. SC: Gov. Nikki Haley @NikkiHaley
  28. SD: Gov. Dennis Daugaard @SDGovDaugaard
  29. TN: Gov. Bill Haslam @BillHaslam
  30. TX: Gov. Greg Abott @GovAbott
  31. WI: Gov. Scott Walker @ScottWalker
  32. WY: Matt Mead @GovMattMead


Governors (In Support):

  1. CO: Gov. John Jickenlooper @hickforco
  2. CT: Gov. Dannel Malloy @GovMalloyOffice
  3. DE:  Gov. Jack Markell @GovernorMarkell
  4. HI: Gov. David Ige @GovHawaii
  5. NY: Gov. Andrew Cuomo @NYGovCuomo
  6. PA: Gov. Tom Wolf @GovernorTomWolf
  7. VT: Gov. Peter Shumlin @GovPeterShumlin
  8. WA: Gov. Jay Inslee @GovInslee 


Members of Congress (Some of the most vocal opposition):  

  1. House Speaker Paul Ryan (R-WI) @SpeakerRyan
  2. Rep. Barry Loudermilk (R-GA) @RepLoudermilk
  3. Rep. Bill Johnson (R-OH) @RepBillJohnson
  4. Rep. Bill Posey (R-FL) @CongBillPosey
  5. Rep. Bob Goodlatte (R-VA) @RepGoodlatte
  6. Rep. Bradley Byrne (R-AL) @BradleyByrne
  7. Rep. Brian Babin (R-TX)  @RepBrianBabin
  8. Rep. Candice Miller (R-MI) @CandiceMiller
  9. Rep. Chris Collins (R-NY) @RepChrisCollin
  10. Rep. Glenn Grothman (R-WI) @RepGrothman
  11. Rep. Jeff Miller (R-FL) @RepJeffMiller
  12. Rep. Joe Barton (R-TX) @RepJoeBarton
  13. Rep. Lamar Smith (R-TX) @LamarSmithTX21
  14. Rep. Lee Zeldin (R-NY) @RepLeeZeldin
  15. Rep. Lou Barletta (R-PA) @RepLouBarletta
  16. Rep. Martha Roby (R-AL) @RepMarthaRoby
  17. Rep. Michael McCaul (R-TX) @RepMcCaul
  18. Rep. Mike Bishop (R-MI) @RepMikeBishop
  19. Rep. Ryan Zinke (R-MT) @RepRyanZinke
  20. Rep. Ted Poe (R-TX) @JudgeTedPoe
  21. Rep. Walter B. Jones (R-NC) @RepWalterJones
  22. Sen. Chuck Grassley (R-IA) @ChuckGrassley
  23. Sen. Daniel Coats (R-IN) @SenDanCoats
  24. Sen. David Vitter (R-LA) @DavidVitter
  25. Sen. Jeff Sessions (R-AL) @SenatorSessions
  26. Sen. Joe Manchin (D-WV) @Sen_JoeManchin
  27. Sen. Joni Ernst (R-IA) @SenJoniErnst
  28. Sen. Kelly Ayotte (R-NH) @KellyAyotte
  29. Sen. Mark Kirk (R-IL) @SenatorKirk
  30. Sen. Rand Paul (R-KY) @RandPaul
  31. Sen. Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV) @SenCapito
  32. Sen. Ted Cruz (R-TX) @SenTedCruz
comments powered by Disqus